Skip to content

Families Give You Lots and Lots of Love!

May 7, 2010

This week’s storytimes celebrated families: mommies, daddies and babies, too! Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there:)

Stories Shared:
Does a Kangaroo Have A Mother, Too? By Eric Carle
What Mommies Do Best / What Daddies Do Best by Laura Numeroff
What Shall We Do with the Boo-Hoo Baby? by Cressida Cowell

Rhymes (Can be found on Toddler Storytime Rhymes Sheet):
Five Little Monkeys
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
If You’re Happy and You Know It
Hands Up High
Blackbirds
Old MacDonald
I Clap My Hands

Music:
Jim Gill Sings the Sneezing Song and Other Contagious Tunes (Silly Dance Contest)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    May 13, 2010 7:30 pm

    Hi!

    I love your blog! I use ideas from it all the time. Would it be possible to publish the format of your story times (ie the order you present things)?

    Thanks!
    Annie

    • sillylibrarian permalink*
      May 18, 2010 5:31 pm

      Thanks, Annie! I’m glad that you like the blog:) I have actually been thinking about formats a lot lately. I want to write a whole page about how I go about my formatting sometime within the next few weeks. The reason why I haven’t been posting my exact formats is that I originally started this blog as a tool for parents to remind them about what we did at storytime. Because I do four toddler storytimes a week, I often switch things around or try different things throughout the week. So, I wanted to list what we “might” have done at the storytime. However, I do keep records of which order I think worked the best. I will email you my document from my “families” storytime to give you an example.

      That all being said, I realize that my blog is now being read by many librarians and teachers (probably more than the parents), so I am really considering changing how I post my storytimes. I’ll most likely switch over to posting the order. (I have done this for some of my preschool and family storytimes that I have posted on this site.)

      Thanks for the comment and for getting me thinking! Happy storytime-ing! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

